How to Unrestrict On Messenger

Had you restricted someone on messenger but then you are thinking of unrestricting them but you don’t know how? Don’t panic! In this guide we have explained the step by step process on how to Unrestrict someone on messenger.

Ignore messages are not available anymore on the messenger app.

Once the restrict option appears on your messenger app, it means that you can no longer bring back the ignore message feature.

Though ignore messages and restrict options are almost the same.

There is slightly a small difference between the two that is ignore messages will not show the check or blue tick on the message it only shows a grey check.

But we just into the process lets understand what happens when you restrict someone on messenger.

What happens when you restrict someone on Messenger?

With restrict option, people are not able to guess that you intentionally opted to restrict their inbox because messages always reflect the blue check.

When you restrict a person in Facebook messenger, they won’t be able to see when you are online or when you read their messages.

The Unrestrict button will also display below on the chat page with that person.

You also don’t see their profile on your chat list even message notifications.

When the restricted person tries to call you, you will not be able to receive their calls too.

Inaddition when you restrict someone you will see them less often and you can hide your activities such as active status from them.

There is an option to Unrestrict them anytime and as well you have access to messages of the restricted person.

How to Unrestrict On Messenger

If we don’t want to see less of the people we want without blocking them, we will have the option to restrict them.

This action will not notify the people you have restricted that you did so.

Enter your conversation with the person you want to restrict, then click on icon in the upper right corner.

Proceed to restrict whoever you want to by pressing “Restrict” under the privacy section.

If your device doesn’t have the restrict option, you need to download the old version of the messenger application.

Here is the link of the messenger old version for those who may encounter this problem.

How to Unrestrict On Messenger

You may download messenger from there and use the restrict option.

We have clicked on restrict and we have restricted the person we want.

Now you can click on unrestrict to remove this restriction.

Here is what we need to do if we want to see the list of people we have restricted:

  • Click on your profile icon.
  • Then we enter the privacy option in the preferences section.
  • Here you need to enter Restricted accounts.
  • Now you can look at the messages from the people you have restricted and remove their restrictions if you want.

If you want to restrict without entering the message chat of the person you want to restrict:

  • Press and hold the message and then click restrict.

FAQs

Why are my messenger messages restricted?

When you are temporarily restricted, you will get a message like “you have been temporarily blocked from performing this on your messenger”.

It will usually take a time frame for 24hrs or 3 days.

It is because you violated community standards or you were acting out of normal order that made Facebook think you are a robot.

For example you might have been sending spam mail, sending so many messages or deleting a lot of people at once. All these could lead to restriction on your messenger messages.

You can access the messenger Facebook community standards here https://transparency.fb.com/policies/community-standards/

How do I see restricted messages on messenger?

  • Open your messenger app on any device.
  • Click on your profile icon in the top left corner.
  • This will take you to your profile menu.
  • Under the preference section, click on privacy and then enter restricted accounts.
  • There you will see all restricted messages.

How long does the messenger ban last?

The messenger temporary ban last for 24hrs at minimum and 3 days maximum. But the permanent ban last forever, here you need to create a new account with a different email account. You can still write an appeal to Facebook https://www.facebook.com/help/346366453115924/?helpref=uf_share.

How do I get my messenger back to normal?

To get your messenger back to normal, simply uninstall the app by either long pressing it and clicking on uninstall. Alternatively, you can head over to your phone settings.

Click open your app manager and then click on messenger and then tap uninstall.

After uninstalling the app then reinstall it by going to your AppStore or play store.

What is the difference between blocking and restricting messages?

When you block someone you unfriend them hence they won’t be able to access your account completely while restricting messenger is simply hiding your posts, statuses but you are still friends with someone.

Why does Facebook say messenger restricted?

Facebook messenger says restricted because you have violated the community guidelines of the app. There you have been either temporarily banned from using the features normally like messages, following, or sending requests. This usually goes for 24hrs to 3 days and if you violate more than enough times, you are given a permanent ban.

Can someone message if they restricted?

Everyone on the restricted list can message you because they are only limited from viewing your posts and statuses but generally you are still friends.

Conclusion

Do you want to unrestrict on messenger, simply do the following steps:

  • Open your messenger app on your preferred device.
  • Tap on your profile icon and this will direct you to your profile menu.
  • Under preference section, select privacy.
  • Click on restricted accounts.
  • Tap on the person you want to unrestrict.
  • Click on unrestrict.

Related articles:

Leave a Comment